18 December, 2019 | 2 min read

Three Things You Need to Know as You Consider Memory Care for Your Parents

Many adult children find themselves looking into senior living communities for their parents. There are a number of different types of communities, and it can be difficult to determine where to start the search. Common options for senior living include independent living communities, assisted living communities, and memory care. Each type of community has unique elements designed to meet the needs of older adults. You can see a comparison of independent living and assisted living communities on the Eskaton blog. Keep reading below to learn the three things you need to know if you are considering memory care for your parents.

Whom memory care is designed to serve

Memory care is designed to serve people living with dementia, Alzheimer’s, and other forms of cognitive degeneration. It is important to understand whom memory care is designed to serve so you can determine if it is the best choice for your parents. The needs of people living with dementia are unique and need to be treated as such. In memory care communities, the focus is on supporting and caring for the ever-changing needs of those living with some type of cognitive degeneration.

The way that cognitive degeneration progresses

The way that cognitive degeneration progresses is different for each person and family. Because of this, memory care communities are designed to help residents with a wide variety of needs. The Eskaton family of communities takes a strengths-based approach to helping residents who are living with dementia. Differences are embraced and celebrated, and care is adjusted as needs change. Residents are encouraged to participate in their own care as much as possible. There is no way to predict the exact experience that a person will have with dementia, so memory care communities remain flexible in order to meet those ever-changing needs.

The focus of care

Memory care communities are designed to maximize quality of life for residents while providing a secure environment for their changing needs. For example, Eskaton memory care communities approach resident care by promoting the seven domains of well-being: identity, connectedness, security, choice, meaning, growth, and joy. By focusing on quality of life and well-being, residents have opportunities to participate in their own care, connect with others, and maintain a level of independence in a secure and supportive environment.

In Northern California, Eskaton has nine memory care communities designed to meet the unique needs of residents living with dementia and Alzheimer’s. You can learn more about the specifics of memory care by continuing your research on the Eskaton website. You can also schedule a time to tour a memory care community and discuss the specific needs of your parents with a member of the staff.

New Call-to-action